katagrapho

writing things down…

Gems from proofreading

I’ve been in the throes of book projects that we are trying to get readied for AAR, ETS, and SBL. Earlier this week I completed a proofread of a collection of essays from Will Campbell, edited by Richard Goode. I grew to love Campbell more than I had. There were gems aplenty in the manuscript, but I didn’t note any of them because I was afraid I would be overrun. Needless to say, I highly recommend the book, Writings on Reconciliation and Resistance. It will be available by AAR.

Another book that I am currently proofreading and which should make it to AAR is from the folks at The Other Journal. It also happens to be the book with my most favorite title of the season, “God Is Dead” and I Don’t Feel So Good Myself: Theological Engagements with the New Atheism. It is a wonderful collection of essays, interviews, poetry, and art. Currently I am in the middle of an essay by Merold Westphal, “Atheism for Lent.” All of the contributions up to this point have been fascinating, but I was particularly struck by this sentence:

Taking the Lord’s name in vain is not just a matter of swearing: we violate this commandment whenever we put our theistic, even our specifically Christian, beliefs and practices in the service of our own interests insofar as they have not been fully brought into conformity with God’s will.

This book, too, should make it to AAR. If you are in Montreal, go by the Wipf and Stock booth (#514) and check these books out, and while your at it browse the many other wonderful books we’ve published this past year. Unfortunately I will not be making it to AAR this year.

If you are going to be in New Orleans for ETS and/or SBL, find your way to our booth, browse the books, and say hello. I’ll be there. If I have time, I’ll treat you to a coffee (or chicory!).

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

