katagrapho

writing things down…

Job or Jonah for Lent?

For Lent I’ve decided to take something on rather than give something up. It’s not much, but given my already full plate, it will take discipline nonetheless. I have decided to read and meditate on the daily readings found in the Book of Common Prayer. At Ekballo, the blog I use to record things not associated with my professional life, I am posting a verse from each of the four readings (Psalms, OT, NT, Gospels).

I was puzzled today when I stumbled across the Mars Hill Church list of readings for Lent. It appears that they too have used the Book of Common Prayer to suggest daily readings for Lent. But, I was confused to see that the OT reading on the Mars Hill site (and in a Lent Book pdf file available for download) was Job 3. The OT reading in the Book of Common Prayer is Jonah 3:1-4, 11. All other readings, as far as I can tell, are the same as those found in the Book of Common Prayer. I wonder if the Mars Hill person responsible for the suggested readings on their site purposefully substituted Job for Jonah, if there was some trick of the eye between Jon. 3 and Job 3, or if there is a list of daily readings very much like the Book of Common Prayer but differing from in it a few places. It is perplexing. It also makes the following comment on the Mars Hill site possibly less accurate:

And remember many other people are following the same reading schedule-not just the several thousand at Mars Hill, but literally hundreds of thousands of followers around the world.

1 Comment»

  B-W wrote @

The Book of Common Worship (the PCUSA’s closest analog to the Book of Common Prayer) uses the same lectionary (The Revised Common Lectionary) as the Episcopal Church. I have not spent as much time with the Daily Readings, and so misspoke when you and spoke in person about this. But I’ve looked it up now, and the “Daily” version of the Ash Wednesday readings (as I mentioned, there’s an Ash Wednesday reading for the three-year “Sundays and Festivals” calendar that most churches use for corporate worship) does indeed use Jonah.


Leave a Reply

