katagrapho

writing things down…

To what end exegesis?

I am coming to the end of my second quarter of teaching an exegetical methods and practice course and I am constantly wondering what is the purpose of exegesis. Why do we struggle with structure, grammar, syntax, lexicons, concordances, textual variants, cultural background, a synopsis, and the like? What is it that I hope students can do at the end of ten weeks with me? I’m tossing the questions out there for your consideration. I will think more about it and try to post some ideas later.

1 Comment»

  Matt wrote @

I would guess that the purpose would be to teach them the art (not science!) of interpreting texts. I really want to use the word “meaning” but I guess that’s a no-no in these postmodern days!


Leave a Reply

