katagrapho

writing things down…

This is what happened!

I am quite upset, but I do not know if there is anything I can do about it. Any advice? Read the support ticket diaglogue below.

[Update #2: I received two more responses to my inquiry.  The first was just some tech thing saying that my site had been transferred to a new server, blah, blah.  The second was a short thank you for my patience and a free month’s subscription.  Neither of them looked to be responding to my specific note to Stanley (see Update #1).  In the end there is nothing I can do about it.  A few smaller changes and two of my longest posts to date are now gone.  Before I completely forget, I remember posting the following: 1) NA27 with dictionary; 2) Reflection on Writing; 3) Summary of Berlinerblau article on what is wrong with the SBL; 4) Reflection on Berlinerblau article; 5) Quick note about the buzz Berlinerblau’s article created.  Am I missing something?  Given my erratic posting schedule, those lost two weeks were some of my most productive.  I will certainly explore other server options once my contract with SiteGround runs out.  The sad thing is that I have been very happy with them up to this point.  They just happened to have screwed up when I was most active.]

[Update #1: I replied to Stanley of the SiteGround Support Team with the following: “Stanley, I am quite upset, as you can imagine. What is SiteGround’s response to the matter? I assume there are others like me who lost a good deal of information. I do not think it is good customer service to simply say you were unable to restore backups. It is not much, but I have lost two weeks worth of work, which I will not be able to duplicate, and I have and will lose a good deal of time trying to rectify the situation. I would feel better about my relationship with SiteGround if I knew they were doing more than saying ‘Oops!'”]

ID: 127260 Domain: dcspinks.com
Issue Date: 2006-11-15 01:43pm Owner:
Category: Service Related Problems->FTP related problems->My ftp service is down
Subject: My ftp service is down
Description: I have no idea if this is the right area within which to ask about this problem. I do not do anything with my site other than run a WordPress blog. Last night I noticed that everything I had done from Nov. 1 to Nov. 13 had disappeared – posts, new categories, etc.. I could see record of the posts on Technorati and other related sites, but linking to the post directly from these sites sent me to nothing. I’d like to know where these posts are. I suspect that something was lost in the recent server upgrade. Can these posts be recovered? Was there something that I did that could have led to their being lost? Like I said, I do nothing more than keep this blog on my siteground hosted site. Please help. I did not save copies of the posts on my hard drive. I assumed they would be safe with you. Thanks.
Replies: 2006-11-15 01:47pm by stanley Hello Chris,We are still working on migrating your account. Most of the information from the server has already been migrated on the new machine, however, it will take a few more hours before we complete the whole transfer.Once the transfer is completed, we will update the message in your Customer area – Get Support section – Server Status check. If you continue to experience any problems after the transfer is completed, please reopen this ticket so that we can assist you further.Please excuse us for this inconvenience.

If you need further help, please do not hesitate to consult our HelpDesk.

Best Regards,

Stanley Cooper
Support Team
SiteGround.com

2006-11-16 10:07am by dcspinks Thanks for your prompt reply. Unfortunately, although the Server Status Check reads that all is OK, I am still missing all changes made to my site in the first two weeks of November (1-13). Please advise.
2006-11-16 12:57pm by stanley Hello Chris,Unfortunately, due to the hardware failures we have experienced, we have restored the latest backup of your account, which we could find. Alas, the latest backups, were on one of the damaged hard drives and we were unable to restore most of the backups from it.If you need further help, please do not hesitate to consult our HelpDesk.Best Regards,

Stanley Cooper
Support Team
SiteGround.com

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

